My name is Nick Adam…and I would like to steal your identity…and probably all of your money too!!

Well it nearly happened. I nearly got hacked, and I nearly helped the fucker do it. This morning, just as I was about to jump in the shower, my phone rang.

That in itself, not so unusual. I looked at the call display, unknown name and number. Now that should have been my first clue, right?

But, I answer it. It is a gentleman with a hindu accent…saying in very broken English he is from Microsoft and they have been getting many errors from my computer. Now this is somewhat true, yesterday I had some issues with the computer, but I am thinking it was internet provider related at this point…but still…

I let him spew on and even go so far as to let him talk me through looking at error files on my computer. I am red flagging like mad at this point.

So I say to the lovely man on the other end of the line, “how the hell do I know you are who you say you are? You could be absolutely anyone.”

He reassures me, with what I think at the time, is almost desperation in his voice that I can trust him, he is from Microsoft…

Red Flag…

I am still not convinced, but let him continue.

He then tells me more than once that the problem will be fixed and he will put me through to a Microsoft Technician, to help clean up my computer so it runs better.

He then informs me I need to log in to a site so he has access to my computer, the site is LogMeIn.com a remote access site…..this way he can be with me the whole time. That is really what he said to me.  Seriously he is trying to make it sound like he is going to comfort me the whole way through….and he will give me his name and a number so I can be sure it is legit….

WHILE HE IS STEALING MY IDENTITY AND PROBABLY ALL MY FUCKING MONEY.

RED FLAG…

I am totally leery now, I click on link he tells me to go to, and put in the code he gives me. And yet still no technician…just him… hmm….

I then say, “so how long is this going to take? Because I have an appointment in an hour, and really don’t have time.”

He says, “15 to 20 minutes, to steal all your fucking shit and then it will be done.”  I don’t log in….

I tell him, “no, I really don’t have time for this right now, give me your name and number….and how about you call me back at about three o’clock this afternoon…”

He agrees, and asks me twice if I am sure I will be home…dumbass

I assure him I will be…so call me back and I will give you everything I own.

He gives me his name, which oddly enough with his super strong accent sounds like Nick Adam…I say what? Can you spell that please, and yes, guess what? I was Nick Adam….really? Umm… I am thinking not so much.

He then gives me a number, so I can be reassured that it is legitimate…ya, cause you can’t just make shit up right?

I hung up and immediately called a Microsoft help line, the fellow on the line told me they do not have access to such information and of course would never call someone up randomly to just help them out…that is kinda what I thought….

so the number that Nick Adam gave me was  1 321 280 6757 and he told me to remember the 1 cause it was a Florida number….

RED FLAG…

And lo and behold…when I call the number back…it says

D241 Test…successful….

Holy fuck…

I nearly fell for it, like nearly. And I am not a dumbass, I know better…but it was freaking close. I can’t even imagine how many people fall for it and get totally scammed. You seriously have a lot of information about yourself on your computer, a terrifying amount…

OMG…seriously as I am typing this..he calls me back…and tries again. I inform him there is not a chance in hell he is getting my information or access to my computer, he says he is for sure with Microsoft…REALLY???  He says he gave me a number to call…to prove it is legit…REALLY???

I said I called it and it was bogus, so not gonna happen, I know it is a scam….please don’t call me again…CLICK….

So heads up people…There is a scam going around. He didn’t know my first name, just my inital….

RED FLAG.

If it sounds to good to be true…IT IS…don’t get sucked in.

Peace ♥ Out…

15 thoughts on “My name is Nick Adam…and I would like to steal your identity…and probably all of your money too!!

  1. I had a similar instance, but they said they were from Apple and want access to my phone. I informed him I worked for apple and wanted to know his name and what division he works in and they hung up. A week later they called me back and said the same thing and I informed them my job was with the Sacramento police department fraud division and they hung up. They haven’t called me back.

    Like

  2. I just got the call but they said they were with the government and I owed back taxes on my house. I said donyou got proof you work for the government she said yes and gave me a badge number. I said oh yeah I don’t even own a house bitch birch and she hung up. I get these calls at least once a week

    Like

  3. Pingback: Tag, I’m it… | The Redneck Princess

  4. Yep. Scummy world out there Princess. Glad you didn’t fall for it. “Microsoft” called me years ago with the same scam. Beware if your “ISP” calls or anyone else. You never can be sure who they are.

    – “Papa Joe”

    Like

  5. Hi Princess…we don’t get that sort of scam(that I know of) but I often get e-mails, with official logos, from local banks…think loads of people might fall for those…I have never had one from my bank but from a couple of the other major banks(supposedly)

    Like

Talk to me...