DIY Sundays…

Well this is the first installment in what I hope to be many…

Be patient with me as I get motivated…winter is coming. Crafting will begin…or building. Or whatever I feel like :)

So this week, in lieu of summer nearly being gone…I am posting my recipe for softer smoother winter skin…

What prompted me to make this was, a couple of times ago when I went for a tat (I think I was getting the dragonflies done) Kat and Jacques had no tat cream.

I said no worries, I can make some when I get home. I knew I had a great recipe that was super easy to make, that I could adapt to my needs.

Hence super dry tattoo that needs some TLC.

Well I didn’t let myself down :) I found a recipe that is amazing. I have added some different things each time I make it, to see which has the best healing properties…below is what you will need.

Donna’s Tat or Foot Cream…

(this is seriously great if you have cracked dry feet, apply it and put on a pair of socks before bed…your feet will feel amazing after just a couple of hours)

  • 1/4 cup and 2 tbsp of Canola oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp Coconut oil
  • 3 3/4 tsp beeswax
  • 20-25 drops of Lemongrass essential oil
  • 6-8 drops of Tea Tree oil

Melt first three ingredients slowly in a microwave, 35 seconds at a time. Once thoroughly melted add essential oils. Pour into containers. Let harden until firm.

In the second batch I made, I didn’t have any tea tree oil, so I took some fresh lavender and ground it up in my coffee grinder and added it to the oils, I then let it sit for about 2 minutes before using a sifter and pouring the oils through it into the containers. Looks beautiful and has no course residue from the Lavender but still smells delicious!! The mix of the Lemongrass and Lavender is wonderful!!

Have a beautiful Sunday peeps :)

  • Lavender (northshoreinstituteofhealing.wordpress.com)
10 thoughts on “DIY Sundays…

  1. Mrs. HoaiPhai has cracking problems with her paws… does this stuff really work? If so, I’ll whip her up a batch and surprise her. Are the last two ingredients, the tea tree oil and the lemongrass oil, just for aroma and can we use something else?

Talk to me...

