Do you remember that moment…

When you heard about 9-11?

I do, like it was yesterday. I remember getting ready for work, and as always I had the news on. I actually thought I had the television on the wrong channel, that I was watching a horror movie.

I changed the channel, and then changed it again…and again.

It was on every channel. Fear struck my heart. I had to sit down.

I sat watching, for hours. I cried, I, like the rest of the world was in total disbelief, I was numb…I was late for work.

I couldn’t believe my eyes, or what I was hearing. I couldn’t get my head around the horror of everything that was going on.

The planes crashing, the buildings exploding, the ongoing terror as it was understood that it wasn’t an accident, or isolated. That is was a planned attack.

And it just kept getting worse, more and more things came to light as the day went on, the other planes, the Pentagon, the people that thought they had lived through the terror only to die moments later as buildings came crashing to the ground.

Nearly 3,000 people died at the hands of Osama Bin Laden. Never mind all the families that had to carry on, with no Father, no Mother, lost children, grandparents, brothers, sisters and friends.

I think everyone’s lives were changed that day, whether you were American, Canadian or from any other country in the world.

I know the sadness of what transpired September 11 changed me. It changed my view of the world. Where I once wouldn’t have believed there was evil like that in the world, I came to expect it. To wonder when it was going to happen again. What was next…

I have cried tonight, with remembering that day, and the lives lost. I am glad Osama bin Laden is dead. I hope it doesn’t make us complacent, I hope we never forget. So many people gave their lives in what many have called a questionable war…will this finally end it? Will there be followers of Bin Laden’s that will carry on? Questions we probably can’t answer.

History has definitely been made this week with his death, it has been a long ten years, but he must have known it was an inevitable outcome with what he did, he wasn’t a stupid man, there was always a plan. Let’s just hope there are not repercussions that we cannot imagine at this point… Let’s hope it is over.

My heart goes out once again to all of those who’s lives were changed forever that day. To the families that sacrificed everything and will live forever with the consquences of September 11 2001.

I admire your patriotism, your courage and your bravery…

15 thoughts on “Do you remember that moment…

  1. I remember it well. I lost friends & family that day–children in the neighborhood and local schools lost family members. The rescue workers went beyond their call of duty, for which I am thankful. A few days later, my husband and I drove from New Jersey to Chicago and I will never forget the eery empty skies as well as the American flags displayed above every overpass and bridge. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

  2. I feel ya. I too jumped on my computer last night to put my two cents in when I heard the news. I don’t think there’s a true American out there that hasn’t waited with baited breath for this day. I’m unclear sometimes how I feel about capital punishment, but I’ll make an exception here. Gee, given the fact that I sway towards believing in the paranormal, I wonder who was waiting for him when he took his last breath?

    • I just hope that people understand that celebrating his death is premature. He knew he would die for the cause, I am sure al-Qaeda was prepared for the inevitable ending…there will almost surely be repercussions from his death.

  3. I totally remember when I heard about it. I was at work. Thank goodness I had one of those itty bitty tv’s. I was glued for the rest of the day. Unfreaking believable, they finally get that rat b*****d! Thanks goodness! If ya haven’t done so, please thank a military member today!

  4. I was living in New Zealand at the time and not very happy there. I remember waking up to the clock radio alarm and hearing the annoucer say “the twin towers are falling” or something similar. My immediate thought was “this is not April 1st”. Then they said something else and I thought, “I think I’d better turn the TV on”.

    Killing him may not have been the best move – he may now be considered a martyr. http://www.theage.com.au/opinion/politics/osama-may-be-dead-but-he-is-now-a-martyr-20110502-1e48x.html

Talk to me...

